Welcome to A World on Its Knees

by olgasoutstanding

Welcome to my new blog.  A World on Its Knees is a blog focusing on responses to conflict, genocide, and crimes against humanity.  I expect the content to evolve as I become more experienced with blogging.

So for this first post, here is some food for thought:  Is mediation ever appropriate after genocide?  What other techniques can be used to bring peace to societies?

I was thinking about this because of an article I read in the Washington Post this week about the last survivor of the Armenian genocide in a now-Kurdish town in Turkey.  The fact is that genocide usually results in a society split in two: former victims and former killers.  These people have to live side by side, often for the rest of their lives.   Read the article.  Then let me know what you think.

 

